1. Why are the nations in an uproar and the peoples devising a vain thing? 2. The kings of the earth take their stand and the rulers take counsel together against the Lord and against His Anointed, saying, 3. “Let us tear their fetters apart and cast away their cords from us!” 4. He who sits in the heavens laughs, the Lord scoffs at them. 5. Then He will speak to them in His anger and terrify them in His fury, saying, 6. “But as for Me, I have installed My King upon Zion, My holy mountain.” 7. “I will surely tell of the decree of the Lord: He said to Me, You are My Son, today I have begotten You. 8. ‘Ask of Me, and I will surely give the nations as Your inheritance, and the very ends of the earth as Your possession. 9. ‘ You shall break them with a rod of iron, You shall shatter them like earthenware.'” 10. Now therefore, O kings, show discernment; take warning O judges of the earth. 11. Worship the Lord with reverence and rejoice with trembling. 12. Do homage to the Son, that He not become angry, and you perish in the way, for His wrath may soon be kindled. How blessed are all who take refuge in Him!

 

 

In this psalm, the battle lines are drawn! The psalmist has so much to say of the battle that rages on in the heavenlies of which humans find themselves in the very center of. “The nations” spoken of here represent those who have taken sides with satan, God’s enemy. The first four verses tell us a lot about “the nations.” First of all, they are in an uproar. They lack peace, they are irritated, they are angry, and they are fed up! Second, notice that their leaders take their stand! They’ve come to a place where they can no longer deal with feeling inferior to their enemy so they confront Him. But, third point, look who they are fed up with: The Lord and His Anointed One! The Anointed One is Jesus! The nations are in an uproar over Jesus! Imagine! So what do they do? They take counsel with one another on how to break His authority over them. Satan has cleverly persuaded “the nations” that God’s ways are oppressive, and they should be able to live their lives the way they want. “The nations” chose to walk in his plan and now are seeking a way to rid themselves of Jesus.

From verses 4-9, we see God’s response. He sees from a distance what is going on, and shakes His head. How is it that God’s creation could possibly think they can devise a plan to overthrow Him, the One who created them??? Then He speaks out His plan, of making Jesus the Victor over satan’s plan. Jesus will possess the very nations that are trying to overthrow Him and His kingdom! Jesus enemy is defeated! Satan has no power over the Lord and His kingdom and His plans. But he has limited power over the people who allow him access to their life! Here are the battle lines: If you believe the gospel of Jesus Christ and have made Him your Lord, you are on Jesus’ side. If you have not done so, you are on satan’s side, giving him access to your heart! 

Satan’s power is so limited that we notice in verses 10-12 that those kings who were on satan’s side were given the opportunity to repent. God’s mercy is truly on display here! We all are at one point in our life an enemy to God, but His great mercy desires to bring us on His side.

Notice the final sentence: How blessed are all those who take refuge in Him! To take refuge means to take shelter, or find protection in. When you are on God’s side, not only are you on the winning side, but you are protected from the enemy, or “the nations.” You may notice in this generation it seems “the nations” are taking offense to God’s plan of salvation through Jesus Christ. But we are protected from them. God will protect us until our work is done.

The battle will not end until Jesus returns, but we can be of good cheer. Just as Jesus overcame “the nations” we too shall overcome! Find your protection in Him, and be blessed! 

 

5 thoughts on “PSALM 2: BE OF GOOD CHEER, JESUS HAS OVERCOME THE WORLD

  1. True; and I know this is true: “We all are at one point in our life an enemy to God.” I’ll only admit for myself this; I am thankful for God’s mercy and grace.
    Blessings.
    ~ Eric

    1. For the longest time I just took His grace and mercy for granted. I’m happy He never abandoned me and He allowed me to come to a point where I now want to show others His grace and mercy! He is a great God and if we hang in there He will show us some amazing things!

      1. I was young and very defiant… leaving it at that. I grew up and eventually God’s mercy was needed. So, things changed. Now I understand – God wants me, I would not escape. Today, I am of service to God in many ways and I touch a lot of lives. Its a good life.
        I’ll enjoy reading your posts David.
        Thank you for sharing with wordpress friends.
        Blessings.
        ~ Eric.

  2. HI. First of all thanks for the “follow”. Welcome. You might like to read Daniel, chapter ten, which describes a “heavenly battle.” It’s in keeping with what disussed here. Anyway, God bless and thanks again.

    1. Hello Rebecca! Thank you for welcoming me to your blog. I am knew to blogging and I am very happy to have found this sight. Thank you for your feedback on my post. I encourage you to continue to do so if you find anymore posts that interest you! Yeah, I believe the war that goes on in the heavenlies manifests itself through humans. We are right in the middle of it because we are what is being fought for heavily on both sides. God created us so He wants to keep us and satan’s nature is to steal kill and destroy so he is after us as well. What makes me believe this psalm is about humans is the term heathen in place of nations in some bible versions. the word heathen refers to irreligious people. I do like Daniel 10, its quite an intense chapter.

Leave a Reply

