1. O Lord, how my adversaries have increased! Many are rising up against me. 2. Many are saying, “There is no deliverance for him in God.” Selah 3. But You O Lord, are a shield about me, my glory, and the One who lifts my head. 4. I was crying to the Lord with my voice, and He answered me from His holy mountain. Selah 5. I lay down and slept; I awoke, for the Lord sustains me. 6. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me round about. 7. Arise O Lord; save me O my God! For you have smitten all my enemies on the cheek; You have shattered the teeth of the wicked. 8. Salvation belongs to the Lord; Your blessing be upon Your people! Selah

Have you ever felt like many people were after you? And you thought you knew that you knew for sure that you were being set up for failure by some? Sometimes when we are having a bad day we tend to exaggerate the situation. I believe its in our sin nature. Our sin nature would rather keep us in chaos than peace! In the first two verses here the psalmist is generally speaking that the world is coming after him! David did live quite a chaotic life, so there was definitely some truth to his words, but the rest of this psalm tells us where his faith truly rested.

He encourages his soul in what he knows about God. David had a strong relationship with God from childhood and faced many adverse situations throughout his life because of that. There were many opportunities for God to show Himself personally to David and he was a very reflective man. Whenever God saved him, he recorded it in his memory for such a time as the writing of this psalm.

As we get to know God as our personal Father, we can have confidence even when the walls seem to be caving in around us. He wants us to go through adverse situations at times so He can prove Himself to be to us whatever we need Him to be. As we experience personal victory after personal victory, no matter how small at first, we can be confident that He will be our shield, our protector, our refuge, and we will not be ashamed to tell others!

Fear will leave us through our experiences with Him! Especially in those adverse moments will we be able to proclaim that our Father will be our shield! As He continues to come through time and again our witness for Him gets bolder. Think about your emotional state then. Is it possible that you will then experience the perfect peace that we all so desperately desire?

One of the reasons people of our generation are lacking this peace is because many don’t experience a close relationship with their heavenly Father. Many of us today would rather run away from adversity than just endure it. If you have made God a close personal Friend, you can rest in your adversity and watch Him be your Protector!

God bless!

2 thoughts on “PSALM 3: RELAX! GOD IS IN CONTROL

  1. Thank you bj for the like and follow. And welcome to your new Christian walk. It wont be the easiest life to live but it will be the best. I hope you can be helped in your bible studies through my blogs. If you have any questions at all feel free to throw them my way and I will help you as best I can

Leave a Reply

